Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel

 

10p coin found in my purse dated 2000.

10p coin found in my purse dated 2000.

Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?

I looked in my purse for a coin, I found a 10p (15c).  The date on the coin was 2000.  It has took a bit of time to remind me what I was doing 13 years ago.

This time 13 years ago I had three children they were 9,  3, 1.  The eldest was in his sixth year of primary school, my middle one was in nursery school and the youngest was beginning to walk about.  I was still caring for my mum she required more and more care, I was unable to give her as much time as she needed.  I was trying to get my siblings (6) to help me out, but was getting no where fast.

D was requiring more and more of my time, he had recently been diagnosed with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder and was prescribed Ritalin; although later in 2000 I had to take him off that medication due to the failure to thrive.

I wasn’t married and hadn’t even met E yet, but I did have friendship with an electrician, he was older than me and we shared a love of a local Jazz club.  We were never a couple, we were just good friends.