Daily Prompt: Menagerie

 

Miss Bailey looking all cute and fluffy yesterday

Miss Bailey looking all cute and fluffy yesterday

Do you have animals in your life? If yes, what do they mean to you? If no, why have you opted not to?

I grew up in a family who fostered ex-service dogs, so always had a number of dogs running around my childhood home while growing up.  But my dad in particular also had pigeon’s, fish and cockatiel’s as well.

That never really changed when I left home either, I have always had at least one dog in my home while the kids have grown up.  We have also had budgie’s, cat’s and fish.  I have never actually bought any of these animals that I have had they have all rescue animals.

Now the strange thing is I am highly allergic to all animal hair and/or their feathers, but I decided a long time ago that I wouldn’t let that stop me from having animals in my home.  Although it does restrict which one I can have, like rabbits and rodents are a no no.  Even though I have a number of cats in the past I actually can’t touch them or have them touch me as I have localized anaphylaxis which means my skin and tissue can swell a lot.

As to the more exotic animals out there like snakes, lizards, etc I am totally phobic about them and will not allow them in my house, so the boys in particular have been restricted to their pet ownership and are often told “When you have a house of your own then you can, not before.”

Below are a small number of pictures I have taken over the years, some of the quality is bad due to them being taken on early mobile camera’s.

This is Rugs one of our old cats

This is Rugs one of our old cats

This tabby was one of the last kittens we had she was given to neighbour who called him stripes.

This tabby was one of the last kittens we had she was given to neighbour who called him stripes.

Miss Bailey as a puppy

Miss Bailey as a puppy

Miss Bailey eating one of my teddy's

Miss Bailey eating one of my teddy’s

Buddy our old dog who we had to rehome after a particular bad attack on him my our neighbours dog.

Buddy our old dog who we had to rehome after a particular bad attack on him my our neighbours dog.

Miss Bailey as a puppy drinking my ex's coffee

Miss Bailey as a puppy drinking my ex’s coffee

Snowball surfing the internet

Snowball surfing the internet

Snowball and Miss Bailey they grow up together and were best buddies.

Snowball and Miss Bailey they grow up together and were best buddies.

Bailey as puppy just super fluffy after a bath

Bailey as puppy just super fluffy after a bath

One of the kittens we had.

One of the kittens we had.

Steve when he was a kitten.

Steve when he was a kitten.

This kitten was given to a friend of ours who named her tiger

This kitten was given to a friend of ours who named her tiger

21 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Menagerie

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie | writinglikeastoner

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie or Zoo? | My Blog

  5. Pingback: Menagerie | thelissachronicles

  6. Pingback: Pulling Another Sneaky Move! | So I Went Undercover

  7. Pingback: Travels With Ole Duke | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Code For Confession

  9. Pingback: Ménage à dix | The Daily Dilly Dally

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt; Menagerie | terry1954

  11. Pingback: My so-called pets | Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  12. Pingback: Oh, my dog. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

