Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment

You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

When I am learning a new skill, I personally like to see what or how someone else does it.  Due to the fact I suffer from dyslexia reading how to do something is a complete nightmare for me personally.

The best example, I can think of learning a new skill is when I wanted to learn how to do stuff in Photoshop, I went to Youtube as they have a large number of “How to” videos on any subjects you wish to learn.  I must admit I had to go through a large number of video’s until I found one in particular I could follow.  The best thing about Youtube and their “How to” video is you can keep going back to them over and over again, pause them and alt-tab to follow along with their instructions.

Yes Youtube is great, real downside is as a lot of those who make these videos assume that their viewers had some sort of experience in the activity, but there is some gems who don’t and those are the videos I personally followed. So please take the time to go through the videos first just to check, yes that can take more time, but for me it was totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

