Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

 

Should have allowed the kids more freedom

Sure, you turned out pretty good, but is there anything you wish had been different about your childhood? If you have kids, is there anything you wish were different for them?

I am back from the weekend at Boss’s now the long task of catching up with posts, please bear with me as I get caught up.

My childhood is not something I willing to revisit EVER; okay it made who I am today, but for inspiration for this prompt it is not appropriate as it is likely to turn into a rant and a bit of pity party and I have no cake.

So for this daily prompt I am going to talk about what I wish my children had.

Due to my childhood, I was and still am really protective of where my children were allowed to go on their own, who is allowed in the house and which clubs they were allowed to go to.  So what I what I wish was different I was able to give them more freedom.

Freedom to explore their surroundings, to do things like disappear for hours playing in the trees, getting up to mischief that kids always do when their parents are not their.

My kids weren’t allowed to out of my sight, even when they got older they had set of rules where they were allowed to go, with whom and when they had to be back.

That is my biggest regret.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

  1. Pingback: Are Children Allowed to be Kids Anymore?

  2. I totally understand what you are saying. I was and still am an overprotective mom. My youngest is 17 and still I have to know what, where, when, and how. It is hard to let go, but I am trying. My older kids, call my home fort knox. They mean it as a joke, but they understand now that they are older, it is all out of Love.

Leave a Reply

