Daily Prompt: Shipwrecked!

A scene found on Wikipedia, depicting ritual cannibalism practiced by the Aztec’s

Read the story of Richard Parker and Tom Dudley. Is what Dudley did defensible? What would you have done?

I have looked over the above case on Wikipedia, makes me remember the film “Alive” (1993) which is based on airplane crash over the Andes in 1972 where eight survivors of the crash resorted to cannibalism in order to survive; additional information here.

Cannibalism is thought to be around as long as there we [humans] have been around, even with Chimpanzees one of our closest animal relatives practice it.  Anthropologists suggest that is has even similar two legged apes were cannibals also.  It is only now that Archaeologists are finding  the prove to back up these claims.

I don’t think kill anyone is defensible EVER and I am personally glad that in the case which daily prompt has used where punished under the British Law courts and even though Queen Victoria would later grant mercy on the two individuals and their sentences where commuted  to time served.  Therefore, I feel this matter has been dealt with and it doesn’t require me sit in judgement of them or any similar case.

Additionally, it doesn’t help that the case which was chosen is nearly 15o years old, although cannibalism and murder is still frown upon within UK society thankfully.  I as a 40 year old women in 2013 cannot and will not sit in judgement of these gentleman and sailors from that time.

We [bloggers] cannot say for certain what we would do if we were put in those situations as we are sitting writing in a different time and place from those who daily prompt suggestion were.

On a personal note, I would have a real issue eating another human being to allow me to survive.  I do eat meat, even though I do know how my meat gets to me, the process, etc.  I choose not to kill another living creature which to do so.  That may sound silly, but I consider myself to be a total townie and total girl over things like guns and fishing.

All my kids had interest in shooting and fishing, although I don’t agree with it.  I have family members and friends who are and I asked them to teach the kids with their interests.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Shipwrecked!

  1. Pingback: Situational Ethics – To Kill Or Not To Kill | Tony's Texts

Leave a Reply

