A little experiment

I have been trying to add more fruit and veg to the kids diet.  As any parent will tell you, kids can be picky what they have liked for week or month they can suddenly go off it.  Well that has happened in my house this week.  I had a pound of eating reading to turn bad in my fruit basket this week.

What can I do with a pound of apple then I remembered how much the kids like Apple crumble so I contacted a friend on Facebook; MS who is a chef, to ask if you could actually use cooking apple to make crumble, I swear I heard him laughing when I asked him that question hehe.  Hey, I hold my hands up when I don’t know something, but I do know normally who I can ask my silly questions too.

My friend Google helped me work out the ratio of sugar I would need to stew the apples properly.  Now to the crumble mix yes I could make the standard crumble mix, but I am very messy baker.  I have spent enough time tiding up, I don’t want to mess it up now.  So I decided to use a packet of original  Hobnob biscuits instead.  Don’t open the biscuits just hit the pack with something heavy; in my case a rolling pin (helps if you in bad mood) LOL, until most of the packet is crumbs, if you have any large bits break up using your hands.

Put in moderate over for 20 minutes and serve with either custard, ice cream or little milk.

Our Crumble looking good and very tasty..... NOM NOM

Our Crumble looking good and very tasty….. NOM NOM

If I do say so myself it tasted as good as it looked, even the kids enjoyed. Yeah me!!!!

Recipe I found on Google:

Yield:Serves 4 Prep & Cook Time:40 minutes Found Here LINK
Ingredients450g/1lb Cooking Apples, peeled and cored
75g-100g/3 – 4oz Sugar & WaterFor the Crumble
175g/6oz Flour
75g/3oz Butter
100g/4oz Sugar

Instructions

 1. Preheat the oven to 190C, 375F, Gas mark 5 and grease an ovenproof dish.

2. Cut the apples into 2.5cm/1-inch chunks then place in a saucepan with 2-3 tablespoons of water. Sprinkle over the sugar ( according to how sweet the fruit is) and cook over a low heat for 10 minutes, stirring from time to time.

3. Meanwhile, in a large mixing bowl, rub the butter into the flour with your fingertips until it resembles breadcrumbs then stir in the sugar and mix well.

4. Taste the apple mixture and stir in a little more sugar if necessary, then transfer to the greased ovenproof dish and top with half the crumble mixture pressing firmly.

5. Sprinkle  the remaining crumble mixture evenly over the top and bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes until crisp and golden brown. Serve hot or cold.

2 thoughts on “A little experiment

  1. Yummy an old favorite of mine and hey hob nobs!.I never thought of using them! My daughter loves Apple crumble..I think I will make her one as a treat when i next visit. Xx

Leave a Reply

