Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

536942_10151320976162620_1223006863_n

“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there?

To me personally the phrase “And they lived happy ever after”, is stuff of of fairy tales or movies made be companies Disney or Hallmark.  It is a social ideal that is total unattainable goal.

I am soon to be 40 and I haven’t had an easy life all of which has made me into what I am today.  I don’t want or expect anyone’s pity as I am no longer a victim, but rather a survivor.  That is how I see life, it is a series of events that we all go through and survive then we go on to the next one.  If we are lucky, we going through events one at a time, although I know that is not also the case for everyone.  My life wasn’t the easiest, but I am reminded everyday with stories from others that my life could have been a lot harder and a lot more difficult.  I could have came out the other side with some serious issues, but mine is minor compared to that other people.  Me and my difficulties are not life altering now but can be at times limiting to how I want to live, but I have coping measures and ways of compensating that means my kids are not to badly affected.

Back to original question am I living happy ever after I am not, as I am living in the real world, with real life problems, issues and stresses and as I said at the start of this post I believe that it is social ideal, there for no-one can live their life can live happy ever after.

Due to this fact I can’t answer the last part of the question “what will it take for you to get there”.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: To Be Happily Ever After You Must Be Happily Ever Before. | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Happily Ever After | Paul Scribbles

  4. Pingback: Getting A Happy Ending – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

