Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

When I was 16 I was a full-time carer for my dad who was in the end stage lung cancer; it was around this time of year when my dad was pronounced terminal as the cancer was now in his brain, my mum wasn’t coping to well with him and she had her hands full with two of my younger siblings.  I wasn’t attending school any way and with my mum struggling I just stop going to school.

The relationship between my dad and I was never great.  He resented me so much and he wasn’t an easy man to be around and when he had his dark days I was one of his main targets of rage.  Saying all of that, I couldn’t leave my mum to deal with it all, so I stepped in and  did what needed to be done.  In particular, the things my mum couldn’t.

After my dad’s death in the June, my mother suffered her first heart attack within a year, I then became her carer for the next 13 years until I moved down to England.

As to what I thought my life would like now, I always thought I would have kids although I thought have a small football; soccer, team not  just three.  I didn’t think I would ever marry.  I thought I would have a great job and own my own home.

Although my life it not how I imagined it, I wouldn’t change it for all the money in the world.  My kids are great and my life is enough for me right now.  This post is marked with sadness because I discussing a painful subject, but that brings me to the happiness I currently have with my children, living my life for the first time how I want to live it and what finally the relationship I have started with Boss; that brings a big smile on face.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt; Sweet Sixteen/The Daily Post | terry1954

Leave a Reply

